Healthy Environment, Healthy Community, Healthy Business

Environment Protection Authority

The EPA announces the new Upper Hunter Air Quality Advisory Committee

Media release: 4 March 2016

In October 2015 the EPA called for nominations for membership of the Upper Hunter Air Quality Advisory Committee (UHAQAC). 

The EPA received 14 nominations for 13 vacant positions on the Committee (excluding the Chair, who had been reappointed).

Gary Davey, Director North Branch, said, “The EPA was pleased with the nominations it received for the Committee membership. A number of previous members nominated and there were new nominees as well. The strength of the field reflects the important role the Committee plays.”

The EPA reviewed the public nominations for Committee membership, seeking nominees who demonstrated strong links to the local community, with an ability to represent the community or industry on air quality matters.

Following the review of nominations, 11 former members to the Committee and two new members have been appointed. A representative of Muswellbrook Shire Council is yet to be announced.

The membership of the new Committee is:

o   Mr John Tate - Independent chairperson

o   Mr Andrew Speechly and Mr John Watson - representing the coal mining industry

o   Ms Morgana Gidley-Baird - representing the power generation industry

o   Dr Catherine Chicken – representing Upper Hunter commerce or industries (other than the mining or power industries)

o   Cr Hollee Diemar-Jenkins – representing Singleton Shire Council

o   Mayor Wayne Bedggood - representing the Upper Hunter Shire Council

o   Mr John Krey, Ms Lyn MacBain, Mr Geoff Sharrock - representing the local community

o   Dr Craig Dalton - representing the NSW Ministry of Health

o   Ms Lindy Hyam – representing the local community and nominated by the Minister for the Environment (*new member*)

o   Mr Ben Harrison - representing the NSW Department of Planning and Environment (*new member*)

Mr Davey said “This committee plays an important part in informing the work of the EPA and involving the broad community in important air quality issues. The Committee is an important forum to enable the community, industry and state and local government to discuss emerging issues and ongoing challenges.

“We thank the previous committee for their good work over the past term and look forward to fruitful collaboration with the new committee.” 

This term of the new UHAQAC runs to November 2017. It held its first meeting on 25 February.

Upper Hunter Air Quality Monitoring Network Advisory Committee was established in 2011 to advise the EPA on the design and operation of the Upper Hunter air quality monitoring network. The network has been completed and data from all 14 monitoring stations is publicly available on the Office of environment and heritage’s website.

The UHAQAC’s terms of reference, meeting minutes and other information are publicly available on the EPA website.


Contact: Public Affairs

Page last updated: 04 March 2016