Healthy Environment, Healthy Community, Healthy Business

Environment Protection Authority

Environmental Issues

Waste and recycling

Funding for voluntary regional waste groups

Program snapshot

Category: Dedicated funding for groups of councils

Amounts: Total funding of $13 million; individual funding of $790,000 to $2.5 million

Eligible bodies: Voluntary regional waste groups area

Contact: 1300 361 967 or

Status: Applications closed

The Environment Protection Authority (EPA) supports Renew NSW, which represents eight voluntary regional waste management groups covering 96 councils and 1.8 million people in rural and regional NSW.

Working together over the past 12 years, these groups have improved collaboration across their regions, improved waste service delivery in regional and rural areas, developed consistent research methods, shared skills and resources, and negotiated cost-effective contracts.

The EPA provided $2.5 million in funding to voluntary regional waste groups in 2013–14, and will provide a further $8.19 million progressively over the three-year period from 2014–15 to 2016–17.


Regional group

Funding (over 4 years)

Participating local councils

North East Waste (NEWaste)*

Waste strategy


Ballina, Byron, Clarence Valley, Lismore, Kyogle, Richmond Valley, Tweed

Northern Inland Regional Waste (NIRW)

Waste strategy



Armidale Dumaresq, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Guyra, Gwydir, Inverell, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha


Waste strategy


Great Lakes, Gloucester, Greater Taree, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Kempsey, Nambucca, Bellingen, Coffs Harbour


Waste Strategy


Bathurst, Blayney, Blue Mountains, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Central Darling, Cobar, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Forbes, Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow, Mid-Western, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin, Wellington

Riverina East Regional Organisation of Councils (REROC)

Waste strategy



Bland, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Greater Hume, Gundagai, Junee, Lockhart, Temora, Tumbarumba, Tumut, Urana, Wagga Wagga

Riverina and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils (RAMROC), Murray Waste Group

Waste strategy


Albury City, Balranald, Berrigan, Conargo, Corowa, Deniliquin, Greater Hume, Hay, Jerilderie, Murray, Urana, Wakool, Wentworth

RAMROC Riverina Waste Group

Waste strategy


Carrathool, Griffith, Hay, Jerilderie, Leeton, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera

Canberra Region Joint Organisation

Waste Strategy


Bega Valley, Boorowa, Bombala, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Harden, Palerang, Queanbeyan City, Snowy River, Upper Lachlan, Yass Valley, Young




More information

Waste and Resource Recovery Branch
Regional Delivery Team
Phone: (02) 9995 6883

Was this page helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Would you like to tell us more?

Share this

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter More...
Page last updated: 16 September 2015